Skip navigation
The Australian National University

Research team

The project team comprises researchers from the Australian National University and the University of Technology, Sydney with experience in the following areas: complex adaptive systems, system dynamics modeling, water and energy policy analysis and assessment, Earth systems science, management education workshops.


Senior Fellow, The Fenner School of Environment and Society, ANU and
Adj. Assoc. Professor Department of Engineering College of Engineering and Computer Science, ANU

Dr Barry Newell is a physicist who has an interest in dynamical systems and human understanding of cause and effect. Since 2003 he has been concerned with management in complex human-environmental systems and with the development of powerful ways to explain basic principles of sustainability.

Research Fellow Faculty of Engineering & IT, UTS and
Visiting Fellow, The Fenner School of Environment and Society, ANU

Debborah Marsh is the Research Fellow on the CEWL Project.  Prior to embarking on a research career, Debborah practiced as a consulting engineer for several years in Australia and Asia on a range of water and energy projects.  In 2008, Debborah completed her PhD thesis, which comprehensively analysed the implications of the water-energy nexus for New South Wales and Australia.

Visiting Fellow, The Fenner School of Environment and Society, ANU

Eric Craswell is a Soil Scientist who has spent an extended period working on land and water resources management in developing countries. His last full-time position was for three years as Executive Officer of the Global Water System Project at the University of Bonn, Germany. He is interested the interaction between nutrient flows, water dynamics, soil properties and climate change.

Alfredo Careaga is the Research Assistant for the ANU-UTS CEWL Project.

He graduated as a mechanical/electrical engineer from Tec de Monterrey, at Mexico City. After working as a field engineer in oil exploration vessels and thermoelectric plants, he came to Australia to study a Master of Energy Planning and Policy at UTS, which he recently completed. Alfredo has also relevant working experience on databases and data modelling, skills which in addition to his core knowledge are useful for performing his current job position

Steering committee

  • Chris Davis, UTS Sustainability Business Development Manager
  • Stephen Dovers, Director, The Fenner School of Environment and Society, ANU
  • Lance Heath, Project and Business Manager, ANU Climate Change Institute
  • Barry Newell (Chair)
  • Deepak Sharma, Director, Strategic Programs and Head of the Energy Planning and Policy Program, Faculty of Engineering and IT, UTS
  • Will Steffen, Executive Director, ANU Climate Change Institute

Advisory group

  • Jason Alexandra Director, Water Policy Coordination Murray Darling Basin Authority
  • Ian Bergman, Chief Executive Office, Sensol Ltd
  • Lee Godden, Director of the Centre for Resources, Energy and Environmental Law, University of Melbourne
  • Paul Graham Theme Leader, Energy Transformed Flagship - Energy Futures Forum CSIRO Energy Transformation Flagship
  • Gul Izmir, Director, Optymal Consulting Pty Ltd
  • Manfred Lenzen Professor, Centre for Integrated Sustainability Analysis, University of Sydney
  • Harry Schaap Policy Advisor, National Generators Forum

University partner:



Updated:  7 March 2011/Responsible Officer:  ANUWI Co-Chair /Page Contact:  Crawford Webmaster